Singapore Management University Institutional Knowledge at Singapore Management University

SMU Press Releases

University Heritage

10-2023

SMU welcomes three new members to its Board of Trustees

Singapore Management University

Follow this and additional works at: https://ink.library.smu.edu.sg/oh_pressrelease

Part of the Asian Studies Commons, and the Higher Education Commons

This News Article is brought to you for free and open access by the University Heritage at Institutional Knowledge at Singapore Management University. It has been accepted for inclusion in SMU Press Releases by an authorized administrator of Institutional Knowledge at Singapore Management University. For more information, please email cherylds@smu.edu.sg.



Media Release

SMU Welcomes three new members to its Board of Trustees

Singapore, 11 October 2023 (Wednesday) - The Singapore Management University is pleased to announce the appointment of three new members to its Board of Trustees with effect from 1 October 2023. Their appointment will be until 11 January 2026.

The three are:

- (i) Dr Jeffrey Jaensubhakij (Group Chief Investment Officer, GIC);
- (ii) Ms Png Chin Yee (Chief Financial Officer, Temasek); and
- (iii) Ms Chong Yiun Lin (Deputy Secretary (Higher Education and Skills), MOE).

Dr Jeffrey Jaensubhakij was appointed Group Chief Investment Officer in January 2017. He oversees GIC's total investment portfolio, and works with investment group heads to manage and monitor investment activities across all asset classes. He also leads the development of short- and long-term investment policies to optimise the risk-reward of the total portfolio across changing investment environments. He joined GIC in 1998 as a Senior Economist covering the US economy and was subsequently appointed Co-Head of Asset Allocation Strategy in the Economics and Strategy Department. He was Head of Total Return Equities and the US Equities teams based in GIC's New York Office from 2003 to 2011. He was subsequently appointed President, Europe in 2011 coordinating GIC's investment activities in Europe across public and private asset classes; President, Public Markets and Director of Public Equities in 2013; and Deputy Group Chief Investment Officer in 2016. Dr Jaensubhakij holds a Bachelor of Arts degree in Economics from Cambridge University, as well as a Master's and a PhD in Economics from Stanford University. His profile can be found <u>here</u>.

Ms Png Chin Yee joined Temasek in July 2011 and is currently its Chief Financial Officer. Her prior roles in Temasek include Head, Financial Services, Senior Managing Director, China, and Senior Managing Director, Portfolio Strategy and Risk Group. Prior to joining Temasek, Ms Png was Managing Director with UBS AG where she was Joint Head of the Financial Institutions Group for Asia investment banking. Ms Png holds a Bachelor of Accountancy with First Class Honours from Nanyang Technological University and is a Chartered Financial Analyst. Her profile can be found <u>here</u>.

Ms Chong Yiun Lin is the Deputy Secretary (Higher Education and Skills) in Singapore's Ministry of Education and oversees the development and implementation of education policies in tertiary and continuing education. She started her public service journey at the Urban Redevelopment Authority and previously held various appointments in the Public Service Division, Ministry of Health and Ministry of National Development. Yiun Lin graduated with a Bachelor of Arts in Geography from the University of Oxford, and a Master in City Planning from University of Pennsylvania. Her profile can be found <u>here</u>.

Separately, Ms Melissa Khoo, Former Deputy Secretary (Higher Education and Skills), Ministry of Education has stepped down from the Board of Trustees with her recent appointment as the Central

Provident Fund Board's Chief Executive Officer. We would like to thank Ms Khoo for her contributions during her term of service.

The Board is chaired by Mr Piyush Gupta, Chief Executive Officer and Director of DBS Group and currently comprises 20 eminent business leaders, academics, entrepreneurs, and professionals from the public service and private sectors. The full list of Trustees can be found on the <u>SMU website</u> and at the Annex.

-End-

For media queries, please contact: Corinne Kang Assistant Director, Corporate Communications, SMU DID: +65 68085238 Email: <u>corinnekang@smu.edu.sg</u>

Annex

SINGAPORE MANAGEMENT UNIVERSITY BOARD OF TRUSTEES

Mr Piyush Gupta **(Chairman)** Group CEO and Director DBS Bank

Mr Paul Beh Jit Han Chairman, Asia Pacific Reed Exhibitions

Ms Chong Yiun Lin Deputy Secretary (Higher Education and Skills) Ministry of Education

Ms Deborah Ho Country Head, Singapore/ Regional Head, South East Asia Blackrock

Dr Jeffrey Jaensubhakij Group Chief Investment Officer GIC

Dato' Kho Hui Meng Former President & CEO Vitol Asia Pte. Ltd.

Professor Maxwell King Emeritus Sir John Monash Distinguished Professor Monash University

Mr Hugh Lim Executive Officer Centre for Liveable Cities

Mr Olivier Lim Chairman Certis CISCO Security Pte. Ltd.

Ms Lim Kexin Tax Partner PWC Singapore

Mr Lim Ming Yan Chairman Singapore Business Federation

Mr Edmund Lin Partner and Director Global Head of Financial Services Bain & Company

Professor Ivy Ng Group Chief Executive Officer Singapore Health Services Pte Ltd

Ms Png Chin Yee Chief Financial Officer Temasek

Mr Arif Rachmat Director PT Triputra Investindo Arya

Ms Juthika Ramanathan Chief Executive (Office of the Chief Justice) Supreme Court Singapore

Mr Ganen Sarvananthan Co-Managing Partner TPG Capital Asia

Mr Panote Sirivadhanabhakdi Group Chief Executive Officer Frasers Property Limited

Sir Nigel Thrift Visiting Professor, University of Oxford Visiting Professor, Tsinghua University Emeritus Professor, University of Bristol

Mr Sunny Verghese Co-Founder & Group CEO Olam International Limited

Mr Jaime Augusto Zobel de Ayala Chairman Ayala Corporation